Plans to go open source

short notes for those not reading all the forums
User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 2:46 pm

You were right it was the config file. I accidentally put in 192.168.1.233 when it was supposed to be 192.168.1.223. Seems to load the scenarios now. I feel so silly I overlooked this. Would you mind if I post my Virtualbox OVA file, if someone wanted to try it fully set up?
If you want to host it on a Drive or something, and link it here, that'd be fine - probably would run into the forum size limit here.

Glad we got it working!
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:01 pm

You were right it was the config file. I accidentally put in 192.168.1.233 when it was supposed to be 192.168.1.223. Seems to load the scenarios now. I feel so silly I overlooked this. Would you mind if I post my Virtualbox OVA file, if someone wanted to try it fully set up?
If you want to host it on a Drive or something, and link it here, that'd be fine - probably would run into the forum size limit here.

Glad we got it working!
What's the size limit on here? I might redo it on a more minimal version of debian to save space. Here's the link for anyone who wants to try it out.

User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:40 pm

You were right it was the config file. I accidentally put in 192.168.1.233 when it was supposed to be 192.168.1.223. Seems to load the scenarios now. I feel so silly I overlooked this. Would you mind if I post my Virtualbox OVA file, if someone wanted to try it fully set up?
If you want to host it on a Drive or something, and link it here, that'd be fine - probably would run into the forum size limit here.

Glad we got it working!
What's the size limit on here? I might redo it on a more minimal version of debian to save space. Here's the link for anyone who wants to try it out.
Not quite sure on the size limit. But I took a look at the instructions you posted, and I see that you've put together a script for running the servers, but you're running it as root. You shouldn't run the server as root, it doesn't need admin privileges. Unless of course your script runs the bioserver as a standard user, then you can ignore this.
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:00 pm



If you want to host it on a Drive or something, and link it here, that'd be fine - probably would run into the forum size limit here.

Glad we got it working!
What's the size limit on here? I might redo it on a more minimal version of debian to save space. Here's the link for anyone who wants to try it out.
Not quite sure on the size limit. But I took a look at the instructions you posted, and I see that you've put together a script for running the servers, but you're running it as root. You shouldn't run the server as root, it doesn't need admin privileges. Unless of course your script runs the bioserver as a standard user, then you can ignore this.
I got that fixed. I'm reuploading the VirtualBox ova file again right now, so it's unavailable for a few hours.

User avatar
hill73n
Full Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 4:49 am
Location: Australia

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby hill73n » Sun Jan 26, 2020 12:39 pm



What's the size limit on here? I might redo it on a more minimal version of debian to save space. Here's the link for anyone who wants to try it out.
Not quite sure on the size limit. But I took a look at the instructions you posted, and I see that you've put together a script for running the servers, but you're running it as root. You shouldn't run the server as root, it doesn't need admin privileges. Unless of course your script runs the bioserver as a standard user, then you can ignore this.
I got that fixed. I'm reuploading the VirtualBox ova file again right now, so it's unavailable for a few hours.
Awesome!! Many thanks for sharing this!!
Downloading and will try it out when i get a chance...But like i said before i'm a complete noob to server stuff so will likely be back with my own questions ;)...

User avatar
leotreves
Sr. Member
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:38 am
Location: United States of Eurasia
Contact:

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby leotreves » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:27 pm

Me and refan got our servers up and running and now we're trying to connect to each other :geek:
Do we need Apache?

Image
HN: Shepard

Useful stuff:

Get faster load speeds with the emulated HDD
Get a memcard with everything unlocked+network setup

PCSX2 using OPL/HDD
PC: Ryzen 2700X/16GB/GTX 1080
PS2: SCPH 30000 120GB
PS3: CECHE01 2TB HDD

Image

User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 4:34 pm

Me and refan got our servers up and running and now we're trying to connect to each other :geek:
Do we need Apache?

Image
Few different options, to be done by whoever will be the client:

1) Use your own DNS server. This involves changing DNS server entries within the VM. You will need to change your DNS entries in

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv
to point to the IP of the other.

www01.kddi-mmbb.jp definitely needs to be changed, but optionally if you also want to connect to the other's DNAS server you will need to change gate1.jp.dnas.playstation.org.

Then run

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart dnsmasq
and you should be good to go. Make sure Outbreak's DNS settings are pointed at your own server.

2) Change the above entries on your router's own DNS server if it allows custom entries - that way you don't need to constantly roll your own DNS server. Then point Outbreak DNS to your router IP.

3) Point your Outbreak DNS settings to the IP of the other person and use their DNS server. They will need to forward UDP on port 53 on their router to the IP of the VM. This option is intuitive since the other person is serving Outbreak anyway.

Whichever option you pick, the person serving needs to forward TCP ports for the servers:

443 for DNAS;
8200 and 8300 for the lobby servers;
8590 and 8690 for the game servers.
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:29 pm

Me and refan got our servers up and running and now we're trying to connect to each other :geek:
Do we need Apache?

Image
Few different options, to be done by whoever will be the client:

1) Use your own DNS server. This involves changing DNS server entries within the VM. You will need to change your DNS entries in

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv
to point to the IP of the other.

www01.kddi-mmbb.jp definitely needs to be changed, but optionally if you also want to connect to the other's DNAS server you will need to change gate1.jp.dnas.playstation.org.

Then run

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart dnsmasq
and you should be good to go. Make sure Outbreak's DNS settings are pointed at your own server.

2) Change the above entries on your router's own DNS server if it allows custom entries - that way you don't need to constantly roll your own DNS server. Then point Outbreak DNS to your router IP.

3) Point your Outbreak DNS settings to the IP of the other person and use their DNS server. They will need to forward UDP on port 53 on their router to the IP of the VM. This option is intuitive since the other person is serving Outbreak anyway.

Whichever option you pick, the person serving needs to forward TCP ports for the servers:

443 for DNAS;
8200 and 8300 for the lobby servers;
8590 and 8690 for the game servers.
Is this what I need to do on my end if I'm hosting the server?

Image

User avatar
leotreves
Sr. Member
Posts: 883
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 6:38 am
Location: United States of Eurasia
Contact:

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby leotreves » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:37 pm

HN: Shepard

Useful stuff:

Get faster load speeds with the emulated HDD
Get a memcard with everything unlocked+network setup

PCSX2 using OPL/HDD
PC: Ryzen 2700X/16GB/GTX 1080
PS2: SCPH 30000 120GB
PS3: CECHE01 2TB HDD

Image

User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:43 pm

Me and refan got our servers up and running and now we're trying to connect to each other :geek:
Do we need Apache?

Image
Few different options, to be done by whoever will be the client:

1) Use your own DNS server. This involves changing DNS server entries within the VM. You will need to change your DNS entries in

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv
to point to the IP of the other.

www01.kddi-mmbb.jp definitely needs to be changed, but optionally if you also want to connect to the other's DNAS server you will need to change gate1.jp.dnas.playstation.org.

Then run

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart dnsmasq
and you should be good to go. Make sure Outbreak's DNS settings are pointed at your own server.

2) Change the above entries on your router's own DNS server if it allows custom entries - that way you don't need to constantly roll your own DNS server. Then point Outbreak DNS to your router IP.

3) Point your Outbreak DNS settings to the IP of the other person and use their DNS server. They will need to forward UDP on port 53 on their router to the IP of the VM. This option is intuitive since the other person is serving Outbreak anyway.

Whichever option you pick, the person serving needs to forward TCP ports for the servers:

443 for DNAS;
8200 and 8300 for the lobby servers;
8590 and 8690 for the game servers.
Is this what I need to do on my end if I'm hosting the server?

Image
Yes, that's right.
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:55 pm



Few different options, to be done by whoever will be the client:

1) Use your own DNS server. This involves changing DNS server entries within the VM. You will need to change your DNS entries in

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv
to point to the IP of the other.

www01.kddi-mmbb.jp definitely needs to be changed, but optionally if you also want to connect to the other's DNAS server you will need to change gate1.jp.dnas.playstation.org.

Then run

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl restart dnsmasq
and you should be good to go. Make sure Outbreak's DNS settings are pointed at your own server.

2) Change the above entries on your router's own DNS server if it allows custom entries - that way you don't need to constantly roll your own DNS server. Then point Outbreak DNS to your router IP.

3) Point your Outbreak DNS settings to the IP of the other person and use their DNS server. They will need to forward UDP on port 53 on their router to the IP of the VM. This option is intuitive since the other person is serving Outbreak anyway.

Whichever option you pick, the person serving needs to forward TCP ports for the servers:

443 for DNAS;
8200 and 8300 for the lobby servers;
8590 and 8690 for the game servers.
Is this what I need to do on my end if I'm hosting the server?

Image
Yes, that's right.
I must have not done something correctly as it won't connect when I use my phone's 4G connection to make sure it's being accessed from a different public IP address.

User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 6:15 pm

I must have not done something correctly as it won't connect when I use my phone's 4G connection to make sure it's being accessed from a different public IP address.
What is your DNS setting on Outbreak? If you're connecting from an outside network, you'll need to set that to be your home network's public IP address.
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 6:20 pm

I must have not done something correctly as it won't connect when I use my phone's 4G connection to make sure it's being accessed from a different public IP address.
What is your DNS setting on Outbreak? If you're connecting from an outside network, you'll need to set that to be your home network's public IP address.
It was the server's private IP address, but even when I changed it to my public IP address, nslookup on my laptop connected to the 4G network keeps failing.

Edit: Did you mean the game's DNS address setting? Also do I have to change all my IP addresses in the obcomsrv, dnsmaqs config, and both outbreak server configs to my public IP address?

User avatar
Isles487
Sr. Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 6:10 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby Isles487 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:03 pm

I must have not done something correctly as it won't connect when I use my phone's 4G connection to make sure it's being accessed from a different public IP address.
What is your DNS setting on Outbreak? If you're connecting from an outside network, you'll need to set that to be your home network's public IP address.
It was the server's private IP address, but even when I changed it to my public IP address, nslookup on my laptop connected to the 4G network keeps failing.

Edit: Did you mean the game's DNS address setting? Also do I have to change all my IP addresses in the obcomsrv, dnsmaqs config, and both outbreak server configs to my public IP address?
So if you're going to be hosting clients from outside your server, you're going to change the IP to be your public IP in the following locations:

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv config.properties
Any client relying on your DNS server to resolve the names will need to change the DNS IP setting in the Outbreak game to point to your public IP. DNS 2 can be left at 0.0.0.0. Keep in mind that as I pointed out previously, clients don't necessarily need to rely on your DNS and can use other options to provide it (such as their own router's DNS server if applicable).

You'll also need to open the ports as previously mentioned.

In your use case if you're trying to test connecting to your server from outside your home network you are acting as one of the "clients."
Image

refan988
Full Member
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Plans to go open source

Postby refan988 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 9:28 pm



What is your DNS setting on Outbreak? If you're connecting from an outside network, you'll need to set that to be your home network's public IP address.
It was the server's private IP address, but even when I changed it to my public IP address, nslookup on my laptop connected to the 4G network keeps failing.

Edit: Did you mean the game's DNS address setting? Also do I have to change all my IP addresses in the obcomsrv, dnsmaqs config, and both outbreak server configs to my public IP address?
So if you're going to be hosting clients from outside your server, you're going to change the IP to be your public IP in the following locations:

Code: Select all

/etc/dnsmasq.d/obcomsrv config.properties
Any client relying on your DNS server to resolve the names will need to change the DNS IP setting in the Outbreak game to point to your public IP. DNS 2 can be left at 0.0.0.0. Keep in mind that as I pointed out previously, clients don't necessarily need to rely on your DNS and can use other options to provide it (such as their own router's DNS server if applicable).

You'll also need to open the ports as previously mentioned.

In your use case if you're trying to test connecting to your server from outside your home network you are acting as one of the "clients."
I changed those files, but I'm still not having any luck. It just won't connect to the login page. Is it acceptable to add the server IP to the DMZ of the router to quickly test it without needing to set port forwarding? Is there a way to test from a client network if the public IP address is resolving to ww01.kddi-mmbb.jp?


Return to “News”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron